Kohyama & Tanaka: Ceramics and textiles

16 November - 14 December 2019

In the exhibition we are showing ceramics by Yasuhisa Kohyama and textiles by Chiyoko Tanaka.  

Opening: Saturday, November 16th 2019, 11am

The artists will be present

Online exhibition catalogue


Yasuhisa Kohyama (*1936)

Yasuhisa Kohyama is a ceramic artist with a profound interest in the past. He has studied historical Japanese ceramics and admires the power of these pieces. He wants to capture this legacy, intuitively, and to draw upon their spirit in a way which is not alien to his own character and work. (1) 

Kohyama has taken two ancient traditions, wood-firing and hand-building and has devoted the last fifty-five years of his career to perfecting their use. Equally important is his embrace of contemporary life, and his bold and poetic use of line, mass, and form; he is fully aware of the sculptural possibilities available to him. A love of nature and a life-long interest in sculpture and architecture have also inspired his work. 

(1) Yasuhisa Kohyama. Interview by Susan Jefferies, Toronto. Nov. 22-23, 2010. 
From: Yasuhisa Kohyama, The Art of Ceramics, Arnoldsche Art Publishers, 2012, p. 9


Chiyoko Tanaka (*1941)

Chiyoko Tanaka is a weaver who sees her work as part of a continuum reflecting the tradition of the woven silk textiles of Kyoto. The process of weaving is central to her work, the act of weaving being an accumulation of weft threads, representing time passing. Once woven, the cloth is laid on the ground and Tanaka commences to rub the fabric over and over with particular tools like brick or white stone. This is a process she describes as ‘Grinding’. An additional colouring effect is achieved by the application of certain soils or charcoal.

Text excerpt: transitionandinfluenceprojects.com

Kohyama & Tanaka: Keramik und Textilien

16 November - 14 Dezember 2019

In der Ausstellung zeigen wir Keramik von Yasuhisa Kohyama und Textilien von Chiyoko Tanaka.

Eröffnung: Samstag, 16. November 2019, 11 Uhr

Die Künstler sind anwesend

Online Katalog zur Ausstellung


Yasuhisa Kohyama (*1936)

Yasuhisa Kohyama ist ein Keramikkünstler mit einem tiefen Interesse an der Vergangenheit. Er hat sich intensiv mit der historischen Keramik Japans beschäftigt und bewundert die Kraft dieser Stücke. Er möchte dieses Erbe intuitiv erfassen und auf dessen Wesen zurückgreifen, jedoch in einer Weise, die seinem eigenen Charakter und seiner eigenen Arbeit entspricht. (1) 


Kohyama hat zwei alte Traditionen, Holzbrand und handgebaute Keramik, aufgegriffen und sich die letzten fünfundfünfzig Jahre seiner Karriere um die Perfektionierung dieser Techniken bemüht. Ebenso wichtig ist ihm die Einbeziehung des zeitgenössischen Lebens und eine kühne und poetische Verwendung von Linie, Masse und Form; er ist sich der ihm zur Verfügung stehenden plastischen Möglichkeiten voll bewusst. Die Liebe zur Natur und ein lebenslanges Interesse an Skulptur und Architektur haben seine Arbeit ebenfalls inspiriert. 

(1) Yasuhisa Kohyama. Interview von Susan Jefferies, Toronto. Nov. 22-23, 2010. 

Aus der Publikation: Yasuhisa Kohyama, The Art of Ceramics, Arnoldsche Art Publishers, 2012, S. 9


Chiyoko Tanaka (*1941)

Chiyoko Tanaka ist Weberin und versteht ihre Arbeit als Teil eines Kontinuums, welches die Tradition gewebter Seidenstoffe in Kyoto spiegelt. Im Mittelpunkt steht für sie der Prozess des Webens, der in der Ansammlung der Webfäden das Vergehen von Zeit symbolisiert. Den fertig gewebten Stoff legt Tanaka auf den Boden und reibt diesen immer und immer wieder mit verschiedenen Hilfsmitteln wie einem Backstein oder einem weißen Stein ab. Dieses Verfahren beschreibt sie als „Schleifen“. Ein zusätzlicher Farbeffekt wird durch die Verwendung bestimmter Erden oder Kohle erzeugt.

Textauszug: transitionandinfluenceprojects.com